Alabama’s Barrett Jones Named Recipient of the 2012 Rimington Trophy

University of Alabama’s Barrett Jones was named the recipient of the 2012 Rimington Trophy last night at the ESPNU Red Carpet Show. Jones became Alabama’s third finalist for the award, but was the first center from the school to win the Trophy.

“I am truly honored to be recognized as the winner of the Rimington Trophy. The job of learning the center position as a senior has been one of the most difficult challenges of my career, but also one of the most enjoyable and rewarding. With that said, this award would not have been possible without all of my teammates, coaches, and specifically the rest of our offensive line,” Jones said. 

The Germantown, Tennessee native has had a remarkable career with the Crimson Tide. A stalwart of the Alabama offensive line since his freshman year, Jones started 49 games and played three different positons including right guard, left tackle, and center. Prior to the 2012 season, Jones played right guard in 2009 and 2010 before moving on to left tackle in 2011 and winning the Outland Tophy. He is a three-time All-SEC honoree and has been named a first team All-American by the Football Writers Association of America and 

The 2012 season launched Jone’s career at the center position, during which he graded out an average of 90.8 percent in Alabama’s 12 regular season games. He missed only six assignment and did not give up a sack over the course of 656 plays. Jones was awarded the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given to the SEC’s Lineman of the Year.

Jones, who already has a degree in accounting and carries a 4.0 GPA, recently became the first Alabama player to receive the William C. Campbell Trophy which recognizes the best scholar-athlete in the nation. He is also a member of the 2012 AFCA Good Works Team.

From day one, Barrett Jones has been an indispensable part of the Alabama Crimson Tide’s offensive line,” said Dave Rimington, President of the Boomer Esiason Foundation. “He has enjoyed outstanding success on the playing field and in the classroom. We are extremely proud to name him the winner of the 2012 Rimington Trophy. Congratulations to Barrett and all the watch list candidates and finalists.”

Jones will be recognized as the recipient of the 2012 Rimington Trophy during pre-game festivities at the BCS National Championship game at Sun Life Stadium in Miami, Florida on January 7, 2013, and then again at the 13th Annual Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theate in Lincoln, Nebraska on Satruday, January 12, 2013.

“We are privileged and honored to be working with the Rimington Trophy and the Boomer Esiason Foundation,” said Patrick Vogt, honorary chairman of this year’s presentation and president of the International Division at The Weather Company, parent company of The Weather Channel and “Please join us in congratulating Barrett and supporting this unique award, wonderful cause, and efficient charitable organization.”

About the The RImington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I-A Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $3 million dollars for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and supporting the cystic fibrosis community.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus First-Team All-American center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the only interior lineman to be awarded the John Outland Trophy two consecutive years. Please visit to learn more about the award and its past recipients.