TCU Senior Wins 2010 Rimington Trophy

Texas Christian University senior Jake Kirkpatrick has been named the recipient of the 2010 Rimington Trophy. The Trophy, named for Boomer Esiason Foundation President David B. Rimington, is awarded annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I-A football.

Kirkpatrick was previously a finalist for the 2009 Rimington Trophy, and a finalist for the 2010 Lombardi Award. He becomes the first center from TCU to receive the award.

“It’s a great honor to be a part of this award. I know last year being a finalist, I wanted to go into this season and one of my goals was to win this award. Its just an honor to be a part of this,” said Kirkpatrick.

The Tyler, TX native began his football career only recently, playing during his senior year at Robert E. Lee High School. He was a multi-sport athlete, earning letters in basketball, baseball and tennis.

Prior to making his first start for TCU in 2009, Kirkpatrick held a reserve role for then TCU Watch-Lister Blake Schleuter. Kirkpatrick and his offensive line led the Mountain West Conference in total offense and ranked second in rushing offense. Kirkpatrick was named a First Team All-American by the Walter Camp Foundation, and a First Team All-MWC selection.

He and the undefeated Horned Frogs will make their first ever appearance in the Rose Bowl this year and will face the Wisconsin Badgers.

“Jake has been an instrumental part of the offensive line for TCU this season, and a major reason they still are undefeated. We are extremely proud to name him the winner of the 2010 Rimington Trophy. Congratulations to Jake and all the watch list candidates and finalists,” said Dave Rimington.

The 2010 Rimington Trophy presentation banquet will be held January 15, 2011, at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb. For more information, go to